Whaley Bridge Town Council

Serving the people of Whaley Bridge and Furness Vale

Clerk RFO: Mr Andrew Fox
Mechanics Institute, Market
Street, Whaley Bridge, High
Peak, Derbyshire SK23 7AA

Tel: 01663 733068

Who we are and what we do

Whaley Bridge Town Council has 9 elected members each of who serve a four year term. At the end of their term Councillors may stand for re-election. Traditionally the Town Council is not party political.

The Town Council generally meets on the first and third Mondays of the month.

Details of all Town Council meetings can be found on our calendar of meetings.

Meetings are held in the Council Chamber. Access from the front of the building is generally level and flat although there is a slight slope up to the inner doors. The Council Chamber is located on the first floor and a lift is available. From the lift to the Council Chamber access is level and flat.

The Clerk's Office is located at Town Hall, The Square, Bakewell DE45 1BT. Access from the front of the building is generally level and flat although there is a slight slope up to the inner doors.

Town Council Elections

The last Town Council elections were held in May 2019 at which nine candidates were elected unopposed.


Councillors attain office through election or co-option. If you would like to find out more about the role of a Councillor please contact the Town Clerk


In addition to full Council meetings Bakewell Town Council has one Committee to support its work;

Staff Committee
Terms of reference:
To make recommendations to Council on staffing issues. No delegated powers.
Method of reporting to Council: Verbal or written reports.
Membership: Cllr Steve Edwards,Cllr Alyson Hill, Cllr Bill Storey.

Reserve: Cllr Vivienne Parnham.

Members Code of Conduct

Standing Orders

Town Clerk

The Town Clerk, who is also the Town Council's Responsible Financial Officer, can be contacted through our office at the Mechanics Institute by email or telephone. The Clerk's Office is open to the public from 10.00am until 12.00pm every weekday. Appointments at other times are available by prior arrangement.

Check out our FAQs page for the answers to our most commonly asked questions.

*Except meeting days - see our Calendar of Meetings.

Andrew Fox

Andrew Fox

Town Clerk & Responsible Financial Officer

Whaley Bridge Town Council
Mechanics Institute
27 Market Street
Whaley Bridge
SK23 7AA
01663 733 068