Skip To Main Content

Serving the people of Eckington

Your Parish Councillors

Eckington Parish is in the District of North East Derbyshire, and lies South East of Sheffield and North East of Chesterfield. The Parish consists of the villages of Eckington, Marsh Lane, Ridgeway, Troway, Renishaw and Spinkhill and contains about 5,000 households. The Parish Council consists of seventeen Councillors and holds regular Council Meetings which are open to the public. Eckington Civic Centre is used for Parish Council business and is available for hire.

The name Eckington is of Saxon origin, and it appears in the Domesday Survey as Echintune. The area became more developed from the mediaeval period with the exploitation of local iron and coal deposits and the growth of the manufacture of edge-tools, particularly scythes and sickles, and iron nails. Coal mining and associated industry continued well into the 20th Century and it was at the George pub in Eckington that the Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire Miners Association (an early Trades Union) was founded in 1865.

Eckington Parish is in a beautiful setting of undulating agricultural land together with extensive well-established woodland. Eckington woods are justly famed for their spring flowers, in particular bluebells.

Eckington is a commercial centre with a number of shops, a bank, Post Office, Business Centre, Library, Civic Centre, Leisure Centre and the Church of St Peter and St Paul. There is a weekly market on a Friday run by the Parish Council.

Eckington North Ward

Eckington South Ward

Marsh Lane, Ridgeway and Troway

Your other Local Elected Representatives

North East Derbyshire District Council

Eckington South and Renishaw Ward

Cllr Jacqueline Ridgway
Tel: 01246 430035


Cllr Clive Hunt

Tel 01246 432206

Cllr Steve Pickering

47 Warren Crescent
Marsh Lane
S21 5RS

Eckington North Ward

Cllr Jeremy Kenyon

Tel 07736 666996

Cllr Oscar Gomez-Reaney

Tel No: 07596 441427

Ridgeway and Marsh Lane

Cllr Carolyn Renwick

Tel: 01246 435680

Derbyshire County Council

Cllr Brian Ridgway

Electoral division

Eckington and Killamarsh

Serving communities

Serving the communities of Coal Aston, Marsh Lane, Eckington, Renishaw, Killamarsh and Norwood.



Member of Parliament

North East Derbyshire
Lee Rowley MP
House of Commons

By email:

By telephone:

Derbyshire office: 01246 439222
London Office: 0207 219 4197

Last updated: Tue, 28 Jul 2020 10:49