Places of Interest
Town Hall:The Town Hall stands in a prominent position at the junction of Spring Bank and Hall Street and its building costs were raised entirely by public subscription. Originally called the Public Hall it was opened in 1871 by the 7th Duke of Devonshire. The Tower was added in 1875 and the clock and chimes were installed. The library was added in 1910 when New Mills was one of the smallest towns in Derbyshire to operate a free library.
The Archemides Screw:
High Lea Park:
Heritage & Information Centre:
The Bible Stones: There are four road sign stones carved in the 19th century by a mole catcher for the Duke of Devonshire. A devout Wesleyan, he carved the stones as a token of thanksgiving following his recovery from a serious illness.
To discover where these places are located, please visit the recently restored telephone box on Curbar Hill, which includes a map of the route from the Bridge Inn to Curbar Gap with locations for these places of interest, and a leaflet rack advising visitors of venues and events in the area.
Special thanks to Norman Tomlinson, Church Farm Art Gallery in Baslow, for supplying the artwork for the telephone box and this page.